Of Glazed Doughnuts and Small Talks

Today, I was reminded once again of how it might feel to have a sister. Or in a sense, reminding me to enjoy the company I have with the non-biological sister I had been blessed with. I am brimming with happiness at all of the little things that affirm it, and it’s days like these I am most thankful for your patience and your overwhelming sisterly love.

I accompanied my sister to the mall today to buy shoes for her students’ graduation tomorrow. Usually there’s nothing new in our mall routine, but I always look forward to how our conversations will turn out – because I either make it or break it with my disposition all throughout shopping time.

Having a snack at Krispy Kreme after shopping was the highlight of my evening. My sister and I rarely talk in all seriousness, moreover I don’t exactly engage in conversation but listen instead. There were a few good and meaningful stories we shared today, and I appreciate the reciprocity of enthusiasm. But really, the simplicity of the occasion and the relaxed atmosphere, I’m honestly at a loss for words. All I want to do is record the moment – and commit it to memory.

At home after shopping, the already-good day had stretched itself to cover the whole evening. As my sister and I sat in front of the laptop screen, I continued to relish and savor the moment. I’m never going to have chances exactly like this, so what’s the harm in taking advantage of it?

I am so proud of my sister for her exponential improvement with her writing. She had only started posting on her new blog this past week, and the improvements escalated so quickly, I almost had nothing to edit in her posts today. What struck me again was the lesson on Kingmakers. Maybe it really is my own destiny to lift people up and help them find their greatest potential. It makes me proud to be a part of their growth, and it excites me to be able to see the fruits of labor, toil, patience and encouragement. Of course, I know I was but a fraction of the whole process, but it does give me a sense of fulfillment.

I always wish that everyday could be like this, but where’s the fun in that? I believe you can make the most of everyday by the choices you make. I don’t know why it took me so long to realize that, and now I’m basking in the thought; making the right decisions always leave you wanting to do more the next time.

As always, I am a lover of the little things in life and today has been no exception.

 

 

#

Leave a Reply

