In Between

A/N: I’m on a roll. Another JongSica one-shot. I’m so glad I could write again.


It’s a beautiful day.

You say I’ve been driving you crazy and its keeping you away. So just give me one good reason, tell me why I should stay. Cause I don’t want to waste another moment in saying things we never meant to say.” – Breathe, Michelle Branch

“Jessica, hey.”

Jessica turned around and saw a tousled, chestnut-haired young man beaming at her brightly, with a cup of steaming coffee in one hand, and a paper bag in the other.

“Good morning, Jonghyun. Is that breakfast?” the scent of the Espresso wafted into her nostrils.

“Yeah. It’s your breakfast, actually.” Jonghyun smiled bigger, offering the package and beverage to Jessica.

“You really didn’t have to.”

“Oh, but I insist. Here, take them. I need to go now, I’m late for recording.” he chuckled.

“See you later, Jonghyun.”

“You too!”

*****

/ But I can’t seem to focus

Sometimes I run, sometimes I hide. Sometimes I’m scared of you. But all I really want is to hold you tight, treat you right. Be with you day and night.” – Sometimes, Britney Spears

I feel like a junior high student, with all of these feelings. I wish we could just get over it. What are we, really? Jessica sighed, slumping into a couch in their dormitory. All the girls, and even everyone in SMTown will be asking eventually, and I’m sure they notice. Jonghyun, who am I to you? Because I know that you’re not the perfect, ideal man for me, and yet there’s something. 

*RING*

“Hello?” Jessica picked up her phone quickly, as if knowing who to expect.

“Hey, Jessica.”

“Jonghyun, why’d you call?”

“SM Building, can you come by, like now?”

“Sure thing, is it urgent?”

There was a pause on the other line, and then, “Not really, but if you can.”

“I’ll be there.”

****

Jessica intuitively braced herself. She wanted to know what Jonghyun felt towards her, so she could decide what to do with it.

She wasn’t prepared however, with what Jonghyun had to say.

I can now rest easy

“I’m sorry I had to ask you to come here. I know you girls didn’t have a schedule today. I’m sure I’m intruding on your rare day of rest.” Jonghyun apologized when Jessica had gotten out of her white BMW to meet Jonghyun at the lobby of the SME Building.

“It’s fine. Would you want to talk at a cafe?” Jessica offered. She didn’t know if this was going to take long or not. She fidgeted with the seams of her blouse, but kept her eyes on Jonghyun — who was also fidgeting.

“No, it’s alright. It’ll be quick. Maybe we can go later.” He smiled, and took a deep breath. “I just wanted to let you know that I’ve decided. I want to tell you how I think we can work out.”

Jessica was unsure of what Jonghyun had just confessed, but deep inside she knew she approved. “Um..” she stammered. “Really, how?”

“Well, on a weekday like today, Monday.” Jonghyun’s tone became more excited. “We can both go to a gym, the one downtown probably.”

“Excuse me?” Jessica thought she heard wrong. “Work out? As in…body building and exercise and all?”

Jonghyun blinked at Jessica, looking confused. “Yeah. What did you think it was?” he raised an eyebrow.

“I..well…” Jessica felt her face flush. You assumed, Jessica. 

Jonghyun softened his gaze and let his eyes rest on Jessica’s face. He smiled warmly and put his palm on Jessica’s head. “You thought right. I was just kidding. I wanted to let you know how much I think we can be together, because I want to, and I want to set things straight between you and me. I want to make it clear what we have. I had this strong gut feeling you would feel the same, and I know you do.”

Jessica couldn’t say anything but nod. He’s not even asking you to marry him! Jessica, pull yourself together.

“So, yes? Are you giving me permission to let me swoon you and knock you off your feet, until you say yes again to make me your better half?”

Say yes! He’s just asking if he could court you! Jessica Jung, there is no other opportunity — nor is there any other man like him.

“Yes, Jonghyun.”

You made the right choice. I might be exaggerating, but I will be the best for you. Jonghyun thought, smiling widely as he opened the glass door for Jessica, as they made their way to the coffee shop across the street.

 

/ I thought it wouldn’t end well

Just let it be a fairytale for once. You don’t have to worry about everyone else, this is your story, Jessica.

“A latte, just as you requested.”

“Everyday.”

“You never change, do you?”

“Would you want me to?”

“I’d like you to change your coffee orders once in a while.”

“Why is that, Mr. Know-it-all?” Jessica teased.

“Because you have to try the different mixes, flavors and brews of this place. It’s all worth it.”

“Would that be parallel as well to being able to date other people, because it’s worth it?”

“Hey, that is out of context!” Jonghyun frowned. “How could you even think that way?”

“I was just kidding.” Jessica reached out across the table and took Jonghyun’s Mocha Frappe, and took a sip out of it. “Well, this is pretty good. You have good taste.”

Jonghyun gave Jessica a “Obviously-I-do-because-I-also-chose-the-perfect-girl” look.

“Don’t give me that look. I’m only affirming you, so you would buy me another muffin.” she pushed her empty plate closer to Jonghyun, emphasizing her request.

“Alright.”

“I chose well. You know, Jonghyun, I always thought you were never my ideal man, and yet, I don’t know what it is that made me like you still.”

“No one’s ideals are ever answered, that would be absurd. The only thing ideal about someone is when the other stops following their checklists. And I definitely would call it ideal if I didn’t center my reality on you. I know you would understand that, right?”

“I do. And that’s why now, I’ve dropped by checklist. I still haven’t figured out why it’s you, and I would like to find out still.”

“Then you have to marry me.”

Jessica closed her eyes. “I will.”

 

 

#

 

 

 

MAN I SUCK AT WRITING ENDINGS. I cannot brush up ever. I just know how to cliffhang, really. I hope you enjoyed this one.

____________________________________________________________________

gif credits:

sora-s@tumblr (first gif)

jongsica@tumblr (second gif)

Leave a Reply

